The Institutional Board of Governors, established by state statute, oversees the operation of Bluefield State. 

About the Board

The Board consists of nine lay members appointed by the Governor, one full-time faculty member, one classified staff employee, and one student.

The Board's duties include:

  • determining, controlling, and supervising all financial affairs of the institution 
  • developing a master plan for the Institutional Compact
  • submitting a budget request to the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission  
  • reviewing all academic programs at the institution every five years
  • exercising exclusive authority to approve teacher education programs at the institutional level  
  • administering personnel pursuant to uniform rule
  • administering grievances
  • appointment and dismissal of the President
  • evaluating the President every three years
  • submitting an annual report to the Higher Education Policy Commission regarding the College's Institutional Compact
  • entering into consortium agreements
  • delegating power to the President
  • abiding by existing rules regarding acceptance of advanced placement credit  
  • acquiring legal services
  • setting tuition and fees 
  • rescinding delegation of power to the President when necessary



  • Mr. Charlie Cole, Chairman
  • Mr. J Shannon Remines, Vice Chairman
  • The Honorable William Cole, III
  • Mr. Randall Price
  • Mrs. Cathy Deeb
  • Mr. Michael Hastings
  • Mr. Anthony Tolley
  • Mrs. Rebecca Peterson
  • Mr. Jack Sheffler (Faculty Representative)
  • Tim McKenzie (Staff Representative)
  • Gabriel Nesmith (Student Representative)


Bluefield State University Organizational Chart

2024 BSU Organizational Chart


HLC Report

Governance Policy Manual

Board of Governors Training Resources

AGB Consulting Report, 2018